Experience

Step by step, from first meeting
to the finalized glasses

1. Meeting, choosing the model, measurement

This first step lasts for about an hour and a half and takes place in a showroom or in Maison Bonnet’s private apartments. It is a personal and singular experience, during which the artisans outlines a cartography of clientele’s daily life and personality: tastes, life habits, features, body language, the use of the body and face in professional spheres – every aspect is considered. There, after a multitude of discussions, observations, trial fittings, a final decision regarding the shape, the material and the colour is taken.

Next step, the face measurements, including the mastoid, the temporal distance, the length of eyelashes, cheekbones prominence, distance between the pupils, are all included and carefully measured. Finally, the client’s vision is evaluated during an eyesight test, in-depth and of extreme precision; followed by the choice of lenses, guided by sound advice from one of the house’s experts.

1. Meeting, choosing the model, measurement

2. Manufacture or reclaiming the pleasure of patience

The second step is an exercise of patience for the client, as the time dedicated to each pair is in radical opposition to fast fashion. Each commission is a unique creation that corresponds to a singular need, and therefore requires equally unique gestures that are by definition not standardised nor automatized. Each pair, whichever material is made out of, is an exclusive piece.

After the first sketch, over 10 steps of shaping are needed that are done strictly by hand, which give the object its personality—not to say its soul. Then comes the capital stage of polishing (executed manually, using a stamp, from the most abrasive to the thinnest), in order to allow the pair to reveal, step by step, its facets, its chamfers, its reflections, until it allows light to shine through and light up the face for which is it destined.

2. Manufacture or reclaiming the pleasure of patience

3. Discovery and fittings

This meeting is dedicated to adjustments and is a privileged moment of at least an hour between the artisan and the face it is dedicating itself to. The time focuses on giving each frame the most extreme comfort, adjusting it perfectly to facial architecture, in its most minute singularities.

Numerous modifications and adaptations are then achieved, such as the curve of the branch, the position of the spatula, and the fit on the nose. Any discomfort is eradicated, the frame is reshaped to allow the glasses to sit with unprecedented comfort on the face, and provide exceptional quality of vision.

3. Discovery and fittings

Subscribe to our mailing list

L'expérience

Pas à pas, du premier rendez-vous
à la lunette finalisée

1. Rencontre, choix du modèle et mesures

Cette première rencontre d’environ une heure et demie se déroule dans le showroom ou les appartements privés de la Maison Bonnet. C’est une expérience personnelle et singulière, pendant laquelle les artisans tracent une sorte de cartographie du quotidien et de la personnalité du client : goûts, habitudes de vie, traits du visage, gestuelle, utilisation du corps et du visage dans la sphère professionnelle, tout y passe. Ainsi, après de nombreuses discussions, observations, essayages, une décision quant à la forme, la matière et la couleur est prise.

Viennent alors les mesures du visage, l’écart temporal et le massif crânien, la longueur des cils, la saillance des joues et l’écart pupillaire sont minutieusement relevés. On aborde ensuite la vision lors du contrôle de vue, poussé et précis ; et enfin, le choix des verres guidé par les conseils avisés de l’un des experts maison.

1. Rencontre, choix du modèle et mesures

2. La fabrication ou le plaisir retrouvé de la patience

Cette étape est un exercice de patience pour le client, le temps consacré à ses lunettes étant aux antipodes de la fast fashion. Chaque commande est une création et demande donc des gestes par définition non standardisés. Chaque paire, quelle que soit sa matière, est ainsi une pièce unique.

Juste après le dessin, ce sont plus de 10 étapes de façonnage strictement réalisées à la main qui confèrent à l’objet sa personnalité pour ne pas dire son « âme ». Vient ensuite l’étape capitale du polissage (à la main et au tampon, du plus abrasif au plus fin) afin de permettre à la lunette de révéler, petit à petit, ses facettes, ses biseaux, ses reflets avant de finalement laisser passer la lumière pour éclairer le visage auquel elle est destinée.

2. La fabrication ou le plaisir retrouvé de la patience

3. Découverte et mise en visage

Ce rendez-vous consacré aux ajustements est un moment privilégié d’au moins une heure entre l’artisan et le visage auquel il se consacre. Ce temps est dédié à donner à la monture le confort le plus extrême, à l’ajuster parfaitement à l’architecture faciale, dans ses moindres singularités.

Là vont être effectuées de nombreuses modifications, réglages – comme, par exemple, la courbe des branches, la position des spatules, le chaussant du nez… La moindre incommodité est délicatement refaçonnée, pour que la lunette se chausse avec une douceur sans précédent offrant confort et qualité de vision exceptionnels.

3. Découverte et mise en visage

Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter